Un-Reconcile Transactions

If you have a need to undo a reconciliation or un-reconcile one or more transactions, the following instructions will walk you through those options.  

How to Undo a Reconciliation

After you have completed a reconciliation, it is easy to reverse the entire reconciliation in the software. 

Note: The Undo option is available for all reconciliations processed on or after December 14, 2021. If the reconciliation occurred before that date, use the instructions in the next section to undo individual transactions. 

In your Rentec Direct account: 

  1. Click Accounts.
  2. Right-click on the account and choose Notes/History
  3. Click the Undo option. 

    Undo reconciliation option
  4. Press Confirm Undo.

    confirm undo reconciliation

After a reconciliation has been reversed,  Notes will automatically be updated to reflect that action. 

system note updated after undo reconciliation


Un-reconcile One or More Individual Transactions

In the event you inadvertently marked a transaction reconciled and wish to reverse it, those items will need to be edited individually. 

A. We recommend you first pull the reconciliation report to locate which transaction needs to be edited.

In your Rentec Direct account:

  1. Click Accounts.
  2. Righ-click on the account and select Notes & History from the menu. 
  3. Click the report icon link to download the report. 

B. Next step is to edit the transaction(s).  

In your Rentec Direct account: 

  1. Click Accounts.
  2. Click on the Balance to enter the ledger.
  3. Scroll to find your transactions (which will be marked with a bold "R" in the far right column) and edit each transaction in question using the pencil/paper icon

    paper pencil icon to edit transaction
  4. Adjust the transaction from Reconciled to either Cleared or Uncleared

    change reconciled status to uncleared
  5. Click on Save Changes

System Advice: We recommend you add a new note to the account Notes & History to ensure you have a clear trail of the chain of events. Once you have un-reconciled the transaction, that transaction will be available for a new reconciliation. 

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.